Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Food is essential for human survive. Nowadays, many nations buy their foods from various countries all over the globe. This may contains both some merits and demerits. This essay will discuss both of views and reach a conclusion at the end.

On the one hand, importing foods from other countries may decrease deforestation and supply more nutrition for people who cannot obtain some kinds of foods. Firstly, farmer cut down trees to open new farm lands for farming; as a result, deforestation appear as a problem. If some countries fetch foods from different places of the world where are suitable for farming, it will hinder the deforestation process for farming. Secondly, in some cities, which are unlucky for farming to grow some sort of crops, people could not afford enough nutritious foods unless their government obtain these fruits and vegetables from other countries. Hence, food merchandise is vital for many people to get enough vitamin and mineral, moreover to conserve their forests.

On the other hand, if a nation is reluctant or unable to raise crops for their citizens, eventually this leads to stagnation in the agricultural development and economical dependency as well. For example, in Sudan, which has big desert territories, farmers are not able to grow vegetables because of scorching sun and high temperatures. However, another country, Israel which has also some similar arid lands, they can grow many crops by using technology and sun energy to obtain water and using it in farming. Thus, people could grow their crops even in the deserts if they wants; consequently, they supply enough foods for their citizens and save their moneys.

In conclusion, in spite of increasing trend in the trades of food between various nations, this embody pros and cons. To my opinion, the advantages of buying crops from different nations outweigh the disadvantages.