Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic?

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Visiting extreme places is increasingly popular among tourists because of the advantage, avoiding several health issues. However, the drawback is able to destruct nature there.

Positively, the immense impact of the remote place visits for people is a panacea for health problems. The reason is that the body is forced to activate acclimatization to cope with the harsh climate as well as gaining vitamins to contribute to particular organ systems, strengthening their immune system. For example, outdoor enthusiasts going to the Tenere desert experience a high intensity of sunlight, responding the body to acclimate automatically with this severe condition to synthesize vitamin D from the light of sun. As a result, the respiratory and cardiovascular system are strengthened, being perfect for those suffering from pneumonia and hearth valve disease, respectively.

Nevertheless, this kind of tourisms has a detrimental effect on the natural environment. This is because, the waste of visitors can harm wildlife animals, risking the endangered species, and the rate of such those creatures decreases considerably. For instance, international tourists taking an excursion in the Artic had polluted this special habitat due to the plastic exposure, and polar bears consumed those accidently. Consequently, this man-made disaster caused a decrease in the population of these endemic species accounted for 30% from 2010 to 2020, then their proportion are predicted to shrink considerably, endangering them being in the edge of extinction.

In conclusion, although extreme tourisms have the advantage to improve visitors’ health, the disadvantage of these is to destroy the wildlife environment. Therefore, if tourists remain struggling to explore difficult condition areas, they shall not throw the rubbish there.