Topic 1: Some students prefer to take a gap year and between high school university to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The idea that students should take a year off before pursuing higher education remains a source of controversy in the modern world. While this trend is benifical to some extent, I firmly claim that the drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, taking a break from studying after graduating high school has some positive effects on students. Firstly, the activity may enable students to enrich themselves with real-life experience that are advantagenous to their careers in the future. This is because, if during the gap time students get a paid job, they could learn many working skills, such as communication, teamwork, which all are esstential for their future jobs. Sencondly, taking a gap year to travel to different places can lead to an improvement in their social, cultural knowledge as well as self-care skills. Students, as consequence, not only can be more mature, but they also can be easy to intergrate in globalised world.

On the other hand, I extremely believe that there are more significant disadvantages to students who take a gap year. The main reason is that chosing a year off can make it difficult for students to recall the knowledge and studying skills that they acquired in high school. An exellent example of this is that when students get a physically demanding jobs in this time, they will be too tired to revise any knowledge. Another is that travelling during the gap year can fascinate students in discovering. This can be conductive to a decrease in paying attention to study after the time which may has some adverse effects on the academic results of students when they continue their studying at university.

In conclusion, although spending a gap year before following university programme is benefical in some aspects, such as providing students key skills and knowledge for their jobs in the future, I am of the opinion that this trend is associated with many disadvantages, including the difficult in recalling pass knowledge.