Topic: Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject…

Majority of people believe that universities should keep an equilibrium between the number of female and male students and such policy should be implemented in each subject. I am personally inclined to disagree with this point of view, and I have several justifications to support my idea.

It would be fair to start with the reason that some occupations are based on specific gender which is decided by professional education experts according to their lifelong experiences. University education should be based on personal abilities, not based on commensurate gender opportunities. Admitting a similar number of students from each gender in a number of subjects will probably render many of them unable to make successful career life. For instance, several domains and fields demand hard physical or mental effort such as several fields of agriculture and construction or computer science engineering are not appropriate for women. As they require more physical strength, to carry heavy farming tools or to write codes and programs for hours, especially if females work till late hours, they have no adequate time to spend with their family and pay attention for their children’s life.

Another compelling reason why I repudiate is that in universities every major has its restricted number of candidates, nevertheless all academic fields are arranged for both females and their counterparts, they are not interested in these subjects equally. One particularly salient example of this situation would be Pakistan. In the University of Lahore, the number of seats for male students is greater in Bachelors of Physics, while that of opposite gender show a considerable higher proportion in Bachelors of Architecture. Consequently, one of sexes who is not willing to chosen profession occupies the opposite gender’s position in vain, so they can be deviated. If every subject contains only its competent students, this leads to quite productive and desirable future life.

To recapitulate, I strongly oppose to accept an identical number of men and women in any subject at university since it could complicate to find jobs later and stop enthusiastic applicants from entering the courses they prefer.