The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts

In modern society, families rarely have meals together with all the members, gathering at the same time. This relative lifestyle has several drawbacks and we will take a close look at this issue to figure out why this is happening and what the negative consequences are.

There are various reasons that lead to frequently being absent in family meals of each family member. Firstly, in the modern setting, men and women who are involved so much in their careers and social communities. For instance, with the drinking culture in Asia countries, Asians often spend their time, discussing about their work, signing a contracts or enhancing their sense of communities out of working time in restaurants or beer clubs. This relatively busy lifestyle does not allow them to have meals with their families. Moreover, because of family expectations, Adolescents now have to study too much, concerned about their academic performances. Besides eight hours on official schools, their parents also send them to the extra classes in the evening or the languages classes in the weekend. As a result, these youngsters miss out of eating with their families.

As the reasons above, there are several harmful effects of not frequently cooking together. The truth is that teenagers are the most negatively affected by this lifestyle. According to studies, the young persons who do not share meals with their families are likely to be depressed and experience bad relationship with their household as well as their friends. Furthermore, planning meals, preparing foods and learning up are things that these teens will not have change to experience without cooking together as family. In addition, fast foods provided away from home are less nutrient and contain more fat and sugar which are responsible for range of health issues such as: obesity and heart failure.

In conclusion, with the impacts of modern behaviors, family meals have been disappearing. And this way of life is the key factors influencing population mentally and physically.