Universities should accept equal number of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that tertiary institutions should admit equal number of male and female students in every subject. I entirely disagree with this school of thought and this essay will highlight the reasons why I believe this opinion is wrong.

The sole reason behind the clamour for an equi-gender admission quota is to encourage gender equality in the society. Those pushing this agenda believe that admitting an equal number of male and female students eliminates discrimination between genders and provides equal opportunities to everyone. The assumption is that this strategy will reinforce the idea that no gender is superior to the other and will prevent one gender from being seen as the weaker sex. A Nigerian Non-Governmental Organisation; Coalition for Gender Equality , for example, raised that idea in 2008 in the hope that a bill will be passed into law to promote gender equality by forcing universities to admit equal number of genders in each subject.

As beautiful as the above agenda sounds, it is completely impractical and can be likened to a beautiful egg on the exterior with no substance on the inside. Firstly, some subjects in the university are entirely gender biased, whether we want to admit it or not. Take for example, a subject like mechanical engineering. This subject requires the tenacity and doggedness of the masculine gender, not to mention the psychological strength that is required to go through this subject. We may find some females applying for this subject but their number will be far less than the male counterparts.

In addition to the aforementioned idea, it has been discovered that fewer females are applying for tertiary education when compared to the males. If the number of males and females applying to the university isn't equal, how will these institutions admit an equal number of genders in any subject when the males are clearly dominating the pursuit for tertiary education? A research conducted by harvard school of education revealed a 20% drop in the number of females applying to tertiary schools in 2019 compared to the previous year. This shows that the clamour for an equal number of gender in every subject is not possible and I completely disagree with it

In conclusion, the pressure on universities to admit the same number of males and females in all subjects will continue to increase. I, however, utterly disagree with this idea.