Unpaid community service should be made a part of school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

There should be no two opinions regarding social work being included in school curriculum. I believe, participating in development activities is beneficial to students in a number of ways. Involvement in such noble causes develop social skills, empathy and other qualities of heart which are appreciated by society and valued by universities and potential employers.

To begin with, education should not be restricted to accumulation of information and academic skills as it is also about acquiring of life- skills that lead to holistic education. Teamwork, communication skills, social behaviour, self discipline and concern for others are hall marks of a civilised person and that is what we are going to impart to the children through community service. It teaches them how to interact or work with people of different backgrounds. Young children tend to live in their own world of fantasy. They may lack social awareness or sensibility which has to be inculcated at a grass root level and which place is better than school for this? For example, teaching underprivileged children gives valuable lessons of life, making them realise how a paricular section of society lives and manages own problems and how they can be elevated to a higher level through education.

Doing community service also improves chances of getting admitted to prestigious universities too, as any work outside the classroom learning will make us stand in the good stead during the admission process. Also, it will earn the good- will of the employer when an employee goes for a job hunt. Although, some may disapprove on the ground that time spent away from studies will have a negative impact on marks scored in examinations, this can be averted by proper time management. Alternately, it can be made an integral part of studies by allotting extra points to activities or projects undertaken.

To conclude, children should be given opportunities to serve society, as it will lay the foundation to become a useful citizen . Not only will they learn interpersonal skills but also get wider opportunities in the field of studies and job market.