While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem which we have at the moment, others believe that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our world.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is a concern to many that global warming is becoming a most significant environment issue. Some believe that people should pay more attention on the issue of deforestation because it has a more serious influence on the world. In my opinion, the growing population is the core problem which we should firstly address.

Global warming causes two serious environment problems. Firstly, it is increasing the global average temperature linearly and this is caused by the greenhouse gas which is highly unlikely to be reused. In other words, when the temperature starts rising, there are no tools or technologies to decrease it or even stop it. Secondly, land mass is reducing because the sea level is increasing considerably. For example, according to research, several islands will be submerged by the rising ocean volume in the next few decades resulting in global warming, leading to major environment issues.

The deforestation is becoming an irreversible problem especially in the developing countries. These countries are biased towards deforestation for development of various economic reasons, therefore they overuse deforestation for resources such as wood. Once the trees and forests have be cut down, these affected areas need decades to recover, furthermore, some areas may never be able to grow trees again. For instance, parts of the rainforest in some developing countries have been destroyed completely. Therefore, deforestation has much more negative influence than its economic profits.

The growing population is the main issue, which can lead to the problems stated above. More people means more cars, buses and power stations, such facilities discharge large amounts of greenhouse gas every day. Increased population means a need for more space, as well as more food to live, resulting in increasing the size of cities and farmlands. In some countries, deforestation becomes necessary because they need the land to feed the mass population. So, we are facing the real issue in the world is the growing population.

In conclusion, it is true that global warming can cause some serious environment problems and deforestation can be an irreversible issue in some developing countries. However, the real global issue which we are facing is the growing population and if we solve it first, we could address the global warming and deforestation at the same time.