Why children rebel against their parents

The relationship between parents and their kids must be the strongest bond; however, it is not usually like that. Sometime children are rebellious against their parents because of some different reasons.

The first reason is the children’s changes during puberty period. Adolescence is an important stage to change between childhood and adulthood. In this period, apart from physical development, children also go through psychological, social and emotional changes. These tremendous changes make them become oversensitive. Therefore, they may feel irritated, angry, confused and lost. In addition, in this period teenagers not only have the need of assert their opinion strongly but also want to have decisions by themselves. Meanwhile, their parents are overprotective towards the kids and want to keep an eye for whatever their kids do. As a result, there are a lot of conflict between them.

Another cause is high expectation of parents about what their kids will be. Parents always have dreams of their children’s success. In particular, they want their kids to have good manners and get high grades at schools or achieve a qualification which the children do not like. Consequently, the kids trend to oppose against their parents. For example, when a kid want to become a teacher but their parents push them to take part in Medical University. Hence, the child rebel by not doing well at the university even not attending classes.

Finally, seeking for attention of their parents is a cause too. Indeed, currently most parents are busy with their career so they do not spend a lot of time on taking care of their children. This makes kids be lonely and vulnerable, thus they rebel against their parents to be looked after more.

In conclusion, there are some main causes of children’s rebellion against their parents including changes during adolescence, high expectation of parents about their children and drawing parents’ attention. From my perspective, parents should try to understand their children more, listening to their opinion, and spend more time for them to prevent from unwanted conflict.