Without capital punishment the death penalty our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society To what extent do you agree or disagree

There are many punishments being set by government to be imposed on the delinquency. The heaviest punishment in Malaysia is the capital punishment, which is also known as death penalty. Many people have the presumption that capital punishment will provide more security to our lives and reduce the criminal cases. They assume that this punishment can control violence in our society. I agree to this assumption to a certain extent. In this essay, I will share my opinions regarding this assumption and discuss why others think it is not essential to control crime rate in the society.

First and foremost, I agree capital punishment can be used as a way to control violence in the society because of its intimidating effects. I have to confess that everyone does not want to die. We know that life is precious and therefore, we should treasure our life. With the increasing in criminal cases such as drug trafficking and murder, capital punishment is the punishment for delinquent. There have been many cases which are drug trafficking and murder occurred in Malaysia. In order to avoid punishment, those who have convicted the crime ran to overseas such as Australia as they know life imprisonment will be imposed instead of capital punishment if they are arrested. I believe death penalty is important to be imposed to act as a warning to the society so that they would not commit the crime.

One the one hand, it is reasonable to have capital punishment in a country due to its intimidating effect. On the other hand, people argue that it is not humane to sentence the delinquent to death. They are against the death penalty because if society is to sentence the delinquent to death, the society is acted like a murderer. There is no difference between the society and murderer if capital punishment is being used by a country. They suggest to replace the capital punishment with life imprisonment. This is no doubt a merciful way from the religious’ point of view in which the delinquent is to be imprisoned for his whole life instead of being sent to death. They believe this is a better way because the delinquent can have the time to remorse of the crime he has convicted. In such a way, when the society is being mercy to delinquent, they will be less violent.

To sum up, I agree that death penalty can reduce criminal cases to the minimum but not to zero. This is undoubtedly a cruel punishment to those who have convicted a crime, though. It is the reason why there are many countries which are on the way to abolish capital punishment and replace it with life imprisonment. Some people think that the delinquent has his or her own human right as well. The country should not take away a precious life just because of the crime he has convicted.