Arguments about whether University students should be allowed to select their courses or not.

Some groups of people are of the opinion that college students should study courses related to science and technology which is of great relevance later on in life, while I support those that say they should be allowed to make their choices of courses.

On the one hand, science and technology oriented subjects may offer students better advancement in life. Firstly, such subjects offer those that study it various job opportunities, which are highly sought after and at the same time well-paid. These jobs usually come with other amenities that improve quality of life. In addition, courses like these improve the general well-being of the country, such as technological advancement in the field of research, medicine, and a host of other sectors. It will also immensely increase the government revenues.

Despite the importance of science and technology enumerates above, I still believe that everybody should be free to make their choices in life, especially the tertiary students. I do not think any course should be imposed on them because they are the ones directly involved. When allowed to make their choices, they tend to perform well in their chosen field because they will be happy and motivated to excel. Nothing is permanent in life and the future cannot always be predicted correctly always, subjects which are not science oriented are important too and should be held in high esteem. Take for instance politics, which is the bedrock of government, is not science course yet it rules and coordinates. Courses related to finance are crucial to any economy be it private or government and the impact of judiciary cannot be underestimated too.

In conclusion, despite all the merits of studying science and technology related courses, and I opine that students should be given a free hand to choose their courses.