With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

Social media storm is still going strong and it can only get stronger in future. This essay will discuss the main causes for this problem which are lack of age limit to use it, and insufficient knowledge about how to use it effectively. This essay will also suggest solutions to this problem such as having an age limit to use social media, educating younger ones on how to use social media, and creating a secured environment for its use.

The usage of social media depends of the individual’s mental strength. Mental strength can only be attained after a certain age and this has become a major issue with younger lot. Secondly, the kids, especially the teenagers, they don’t have enough knowledge about it. This is another problem to deal with. When a youngster who is still not completely aware of the downsides of the social media, this is when he falls prey to it, because he is exposed to certain elements in social media like life-threatening games or for that matter adulterated content whose usability is beyond his age limit and mental capabilities of his mind. For example, a recent online game, ‘Momos’ was targeted at children between age group of 11-17 years. As per ‘International Child Care Council,’ this game has accounted for significant number of deaths among the mentioned age group. Hence, due to all these reasons, the risk of using social media is higher in children.

As the saying goes, ‘Every problem has in it the seeds of its own solution,’ there are solutions for the above discussed problems as well. The organizations who run these social media platforms need to create a strict age restriction rule based upon their content. Further, there needs to be more social media awareness camps in schools to make children realize the side effects of social media. Moreover, it is the responsibility of parents to create a secured and healthy environment at home to prevent generation of any negative thoughts in a child’s mind. For instance, in a recent news article about a couple who traced out the browsing history of their child, it helped them to protect the child from falling in trap for the suicidal online game. Therefore, to protect the children from falling in trap to the bad side of social media, the above suggested are the few key solutions.

To conclude, if social media is used properly, then it can be a very solid tool for knowing the unknown. However, there are enough downsides to this as well. This essay discussed the problems of social media among youngsters and it also suggested solutions to these problems.