Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world, people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels.

Differences between nations are becoming less perceptible these days as people all over the world are sharing the same lifestyle, costumes, food, advertisement, and entertainment programs. The following essay discusses the benefits and the drawbacks of this global trend and would reach to a logical conclusion whether advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Due to the globalisation, people share the same fashion styles, commercials, brands and television programs these days and this trend offers some benefits. Firstly, as international brands such as Colgate or Gillette produce products in mass scale, the manufacturing cost of these worldwide products become cheaper. As a result, consumers enjoy the advantage of buying global branded products at an affordable rate. Secondly, as people all over the world share the same culinary experience, it means that people have more diet options nowadays. People who live in big cities such as New York or London would have the option to purchase food based on their appetite, whether it is Chinese, Indian or Western food. Furthermore, this trend would reduce the cultural barrier different nations have and would bring people under a common platform where citizens in a country will have more knowledge and respect about other nations and their customs.

On the other hand, many believe that the globalisation of the fashion, entertainment and culinary industries have some negative points. One of the cases is that many people abandon their cultural values these days, as they prefer to follow the world trend. The globalisation also has a negative effect on the identity of a country. Lastly, the foreign television shows have negative influences to the young people, such as violence and unsuitable contents. Many global TV channels are showing programmes which might be prohibited in some cultures. However, as these shows are easily seen nowadays, many young people in those countries are following the style and as a consequence, many of them are adopting a non-acceptable lifestyle.

In conclusion, it is true that the globalisation of the fashion, advertising, culinary and entertainment products have their own advantages and disadvantages, but I personally feel that it has more negative points than the positive aspects. I personally believe that we should be selective and be really careful in selecting those global brands and lifestyles.