Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Essay topics

Every living creature on the Earth has the right to live freely, and no one should be deprived of freedom. I concur that a zoo is futile; therefore, in this essay, I will elaborate my view with the help of several examples.

To embark upon, the various species of animals and birds are captivated against their will. This hampers their freedom such as roaming around freely, searching for prey ,and mating in season. As a result, they tend to become aggressive and might slip into depression. To illustrate, In India, a zookeeper was killed by an agitated Lion, who was in captivation for five years. Moreover, the health of these species are miserable due to unhygienic living conditions. The factors that contributes to such conditions are improper cleanliness, dirty surroundings , filthy water, and low quality food. This has led to various illnesses among faunas, and some of them are even on the verge of death.

Furthermore, most of them are teased and bullied by the visitors for their entertainment like some people throw stones and bottles at animals and birds, and others imitate and irritate them by making various gestures. This has resulted in several mishaps in zoos; for example, a man was killed by an angry leopard when he fell in his cage. To contrast, a few people assert that endangered species are secure in cages; however, I believe that other options can be adopted to ensure safety such as wildlife sanctuaries and national parks, where animals can roam freely.

In conclusion, keeping animals and birds in confinement has not only proven detrimental to these species but also for humans. The Government and various organizations should spread awareness among people about other methods available.