Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and imagination than reading.

To what extent do you agree?

Use reasons and specific example to explain your answer

Parents and adults try to nurture children`s imagination and skills by involving them in reading. However, a recent research suggest that playing is proven to be beneficial than reading. I totally agree that playing can improve children`s skills compared to reading and in this essay I will state my reasons for this with specific examples.

Firstly, reading has various benefits, but playing on gaming consoles can help to learn important skills compared to reading. This is because console games teaches role-playing and provide opportunity to improve active and reflective skills, and increase spatial awareness. For example, a recent research from Harvard indicates that children who played console games such as XBOX, PlayStation or Nintendo are often perform better in psychometric test. Therefore, playing has more advantages than reading in developing vital abilities to children.

Secondly, engaging in physical activities will assist students to improve their academic results. This is due to the fact participating in sport or competition increase focus, concertation and cognitive abilities of them. In addition, sports can teach important social skills such as teamwork, co-operation and communication skills. For example, a study from YMCA showed that student’s involvement in sports increases their academic score to twenty percent. Consequently, children learn many things from their own experience rather gaining theoretical knowledge through reading.

To conclude playing is vital for skills development, yet it is also important to introduce reading practice and various books to the young people. An ideal schedule should be mix of both reading and playing and this is the reason why schools have dedicated playing hours and reading time.