Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth.Do you agree or disagree?

Education clearly plays a key role in the development of an individual and country on the whole. It is often argued that education is the right of every human being and should get a fair chance to acquire it free regardless of their financial status. In my view, the responsibility of providing free of cost education to every citizen lies with the government.

From an overall perspective, there are a number of reasons why people believe that education should be free. Perhaps the main reason why I agree with this idea is because people from poor background get an equal opportunity to progress in their life by having decent jobs or become an entrepreneur after completing the education. As a result, individuals from different strata of society can have access to a better quality of life.

Educated population supports the country’s economy in many ways. By providing free education to wider sections of society, a country is able to create a pool of talented and skilled workforce so that it no longer requires to hire professionals from foreign countries. For instance, in developing countries where literacy rate is low due to high school and college fees, there is a scarcity of skilled labour and professionals for executive positions are often hired from overseas countries.

To conclude, just like every other public service, the citizens of any country deserves to get free education without any discrimination. This will surely support the country’s economy as well as improvise the lifestyle of a common man.