Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers. Why do young people not want to be teachers? How this could be changed?

In the present day age, fewer young people are selecting teaching as a profession. I personally believe, it is due to technological advancements and poor attitude of society towards the profession. To over come this phenomenon, parents and schools need to promote the significance of teachers in our society.

Young generation is swayed by other professions, such as doctors, lawyers and IT professionals. The reason being, they are perceived as stable jobs in eyes of society. Moreover, they are well paying professions as compared to teaching. Due to which, parents motivate and encourage their children to pursue these professions. Another reason is, teachers are getting substituted by computers in classrooms. It has been observed that, teachers are losing their jobs as the modern techniques of teaching have no place for them. Thus, the generation of 21st century does not see teaching as a viable career.

The following are the possible solutions to tackle the above mentioned problems. Firstly, schools should design a structure which gives equal importance to computer aided learning as well as face to face learning. As a result of this students from an early age will understand the importance of a teacher in the process of learning and growing. Secondly, parents need to promote the importance of a teacher, as to how vital they are for the well-being for a society. Hence the above mentioned solutions can pursue youngsters to become teachers.

In conclusion, the trend of youngsters pursuing other professions can be altered, by giving equal importance to teaching as other professions and promoting the importance of teachers in society.