Films and games can be accessed at any time from mobile devices, like smartphones, tablets and laptop computers. Do the advantages of such developments outweigh the advantages?

Although easy access of movies and games on mobile gadgets is thought by some to be advantageous, other people think it can be detrimental. In my opinion, I think that being able to access films and games on the go can bring more problems compared to any advantages it might bring.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of this kind of access. Firstly, it is a form of entertainment to kill time while bored. Many people get stuck in the subway on thier way home, doing nothing and watching their favourite movie or playing a game would be a possible method to entertain themselves. Secondly, this would save money spent on television sets and cable fees. Netflix, for instance, is a favourite online outlet that young adults prefer over conventional cabel chanels.

Nevertheless, despite the basic advantages above, I believe that watching movies and gaming on mobile devices has serious implications. One potentially dangerous problem is that it was proven to cause developmental delays in young children. The World Health Organisation (WHO) is urging parents to eliminate screen time for infants younger than 2 years old and limit it to only one hour daily for children aged 2 to 7 as it can cause serious mental and physical side effects. Another obvious issue is that it is a form of constant distraction. It is becoming more and more evident that having mobile gadgets around the clock with this type of entertainment accessibility has its own problematic effects on study and work flow as well as family time. It is common now more than ever that you find a family sitting together but everyone of them is looking at his or her mobile screen, they are present yet not available. It is an extremely harmful side effect of this phenomenon, socially speaking.

In conclusion, hendering the development of youngsters’ brains or impairing social interactions far outweighs any minor benefits that could result from having access on mobile devices for movies and games.