Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Genetic engineering is a key area of modern scientific research, with broad implications in all spheres of life. While it raises concerns related to the existence of life on the planet, I believe that its judicious and controlled use can endow humans with a range of benefits.

Genetic engineering presents the possibility of a lot of advantages, and solutions to many problems in the society. Firstly, the global food shortage due to ever growing populations will be a thing of the past because GMO crops have led to a significant rise in crop production, which can effectively meet the requisite level. Secondly, the plants thus produced are hardly attacked by any pests and insects, since the gene changes induced in them have resulted in increased resistance to these disease causing elements. Finally, with the usage of gene therapy, those genetic disorders could be cured about whom the medical community was clueless. For example, ailments like fragile X syndrome and cystic fibrosis could be treated by this procedure.

The apprehensions regarding genetic engineering are primarily due to its potentially irreversible impact on two factors, namely food production and cloning of humans. Genetic engineering is believed to increase the crop yields and their pest resistance is achieved by altering gene structures or introducing artificial genes. However, its feared that the crops thus produced have diminished nutrient profile, and there is no knowhow about their long term effect on human physiology. The second factor worrying some is the cloning of humans might result in intellectual beings with greater survival instincts, whose behavioural and moral tendencies are completely unknown. Their arrival could result in completely wiping out the existing human race. However, the above drawbacks can be taken care of by the authorities if they are sensitive and cautious. The governments should closely monitor and regulate the extent of research done by rationally assessing the consequences, and thereby enacting laws to ensure the safety and well being of the people.

In conclusion, just like every new research, genetic engineering seems to have a lot of advantages, and some potential threats which can be made redundant by suitable intervention by governments.