The governments should close companies that produce toxic waste materials without their own waste treatment facility in order to protect the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

It is true that many manufacturing industries in most countries are damaging our planet by disposing of their toxic waste irresponsibly. This is endangering our planet and environmentalists suggest that the governments should lock down those industrial plants which lack proper waste management facilities. I completely agree to this notion in the best interest of our next generations.

To begin with, governments made it mandatory to all the industries to have their own hazardous treatment facilities; however, there are no serious punishments if they don’t have one. As a result, some companies take it for granted that they could pay the government some penalty and continue running their businesses. The toxic materials produced by such facilities are polluting every aspect of our nature mainly, air and water. China for instance, has numerous factories all over the country which release hazardous chemicals into nearby water bodies making it highly dangerous to the people living nearby. A study made by their government reveals a shocking truth that more than eighty percent of their rivers are polluted and are not fit for human consumption.

Furthermore, dangerous waste will have long-term effect on the people who gets in contact with it. Chronic illnesses resulted by arsenic and lead are proven to be fatal for humans. In addition to that, the aerosol chemical waste is responsible for pulmonary ailments such as tuberculosis and bronchitis. According to the Chinese department of health, more than seventy percent of human fatalities occurred in the year 2001 were either due to lead poisoning or lung cancer.

Therefore, I strongly believe that any industry that doesn’t have it’s waste treatment plants established, should be shut down by government authorities to keep our environment safe.