The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and

cities closing.

Do you agree or disagree ?

Technology has changed the way we shop. Some people believe that with more people preferring to shop online, it will lead to the closure of shops in urban areas. I do not agree with the statement because people visiting shops in towns and cities will reduce but not in a substantial amount.

Firstly, one primary reason for shops in rural areas to continue in the future is people's preference to go for physical shopping in their leisure time. Human beings these days opt to physically shop from a variety of shops and different shopping malls to relieve stress and feel happy. For example, according to a result of a recent poll, 47% of the people between the age 27-34, went shopping at malls to feel wanted and out of work. As a result, people will now and then visit shops, which will keep them busy alive in the coming years.

Secondly, another reason shops will continue to exist is people's preference to buy from local buyers. There are still many people who do not trust the viability of online shopping and prefer to buy products from local shopkeepers, due to its benefits to touch and feel the product. For instance, Indian women still believe that local shopkeepers will give them a better and durable product compared to online companies. They have a feeling that it is a safe form of exchange as they know each other and can be reached easily. Therefore, the preference of local people will help the local shops to exist in cities and towns.

However, with the ease and convenience that technology provides, online shopping is growing. Young people prefer to shop by sitting at home or while traveling, but this can be solved by attracting juveniles by providing with a live demo

and attractive discounts.

In conclusion, people different need to shop from stores and benefit of touch and feel are a couple of reasons which will help the local shops to exist and grow in towns and cities.