International tourism is now more common than ever before. Some feel that this is a positive trend, while others do not.

What are your opinions on this?

Over the past 50 years, we have seen a significant increase in global tourism. While some people consider this trend positive, I would contend that overall, international tourism has a negative impact on our lives. My reasons for this are as follows.

First of all, it is an undeniable fact that global tourism has been a great influence on cultural diversity. People in developing countries face everyday, a lot of different cultures and behaviors among tourists from developed countries and this can foster a foundation for them to develop faster and adjust to the modern society easily. Also, when wealthy people holiday in developing countries, they bring a lot of money to the poorer country and this results to economic prosperity.

Further and more importantly, although this cultural and economic trade is considered as a good occurrence, I personally believe that the environmental degradation tourists leave behind is much more disturbing. For instance, Venice in Italy is unfortunately known for sinking right now, and the influx of tourists are not helping either. All the services provided for holidaymaking, including cruise ships, are accelerating the sinking of Venice. Or as an another salient example, the world renowned Kuta Beach in Bali has become heavily polluted in recent years, and once an ecosystem is broken, it is really hard to fix it.

By way of conclusion, even though that the challenges provided by international tourists are not going to decrease in a foreseeable future, I believe that we need a serious public education to inform people about the damages they are causing every year to the world, and more important than that, governments should find a way to regulate this booming abroad holidaymaking.