Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does it cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Two days ago, I read an article about the influence of big enterprises on the market. The author stated that corporations widely use both promotion and advertisement to change the preferences in shopping. This essay will consider the problems of this change and suggest possible solutions for stimulating people to buy domestic goods.

The first problem is the detrimental pressure on domestic companies. When a large corporation opens its branches in a region, local entrepreneurs usually start to suffer from the unequal competition with it, since they have insufficient funding either to introduce themselves more in the media nor hold promotions more frequently. This results in them gradually losing customers and eventually stopping their activity in the market. Another problem with the entry of large corporations into the area is growing prices. Once the dominance in the market is achieved by various advertising campaigns, these companies tend to gradually increase the prices. This gradually leads customers to overpay.

Nevertheless, the authorities could support domestic manufacturers. To arouse the interest in buying homemade goods, the government should promote them to the masses. Generally, it is hard to find the information about domestic producers on TV and radio, since they cannot afford advertisement. However, if the government supported them by freely showing homegrown producers on the state channels, such producers would have more opportunities to present themselves to the public. Consequently, society would be aware of local merchandise and probably give them their preference. Furthermore, the state could both subsidize and exempt them from paying several taxes, so that they would be able to lower their prices and expand their production.

In conclusion, even though big companies pose many problems to the inner market, the state officials could raise public awareness of local manufactured items by showing their local products in the media and assist internal manufacturers financially.