A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

The major part of the nation’s economy is bear by tourism for many counties, which can however also be the reason for a lot of problems if not handled effectively. This essay discusses how the benefits such as employment and influx of foreign currency boost countries economy and dismiss the concerned drawback about the dissolution of cultural values.

Increase in many foreign visitors will help increase the economy of the nation. Foreigners pay for the local amenities and buy local handicrafts as a gift for their loved ones at comparatively more lucrative rates than a local buyer. It must be fueled by their increased spending habit and better purchasing power. To give you an example, Nepal, a well-renowned country for tourism recently published that 40 % of their GDP in 2020 is a result of the tourists’ activity. Besides, employment opportunities arise in many new sectors with an increasing number of tourists. This is illustrated by the fact that 30 per cent of the workforce in Vietnam is associated directly with the tourism industry.

Nevertheless, there is a contention among other groups of thinkers that these individuals dilute the cultural values of the place by introducing newer habits or traits. This essay completely dispels this argument since it is found that cultural values of the place are found to be cosmopolitan by faster adoption of the food and the language by visitors. Recent research published by Mysore university in July 2020 shows that coconut pickle of southern India has grown immensely popular in restaurants in London after the rise in their visit to Kerela and Tamilnadu last year.

In conclusion, despite unwarranted concern about the destruction of moral values of the visited place by the tourists, the increased spending of theirs along with the employment of major chunk of the workforce in industries catering to them confirms how the tourism industry has been contributing to the nation's financial growth.