Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since the computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, due to advancement in technology and easy access to the resources such as laptop and computer, people prefer to read via web instead of going to the libraries. This trend has given rise to a question, whether public libraries are waste of money? I totally disagree with statement and believe that we need them even in the today’s world. In the following easy we would discuss the advantages and disadvantages they bring to us.

On one hand, libraries have numerous benefits. Firstly, internet and technological gadgets such as laptops and computers are not approachable for everyone. In India, for instance, many villages do not have such facilities, thereby, making libraries, only option to gather information. Secondly, some people find it difficult to read on these devices. For them reading on hard copies and books is much more comfortable. Lastly, libraries provide the calm and peaceful environment to concentrate which is generally not available at other places. Finally, extensive exposure of these tools namely computers, laptops etc, have adverse impact on the eyes of reader. Hence, it is apparent that libraries have many benefits those cannot be avoided.

On the other hand, there are few clear disadvantages of having libraries. To begin with, sometimes libraries are far from one’s house, thus, making it time consuming to reach there. In addition to that, when new books or articles are published, they are available on internet earlier than in the libraries. Moreover, government has to spend money to maintain them and to pay to its staff. However, these are few demerits of libraries, they are not convincing at all.

In conclusion, after looking at both sides, it is evident that libraries are a significant part of our life now and are not wastage of money. However, I would suggest that the government should computerize them, so that, people who do not have computers, leverage