The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime.

Why do you think that is?

Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

News related to battles, dearth of food, road rage and felony is being reported by media houses. As per my opinion, the plausible reasons for this maneuver are psychology of the human beings as well as news channels want to get high TRP (Target rating points) by reporting these kind of news. Furthermore, there should be an equilibrium between good and bad news.

To commence with, mindset of people are changed as compared to previous era. As everyone is living under immense pressure and fear, it gives them a relief to watch or read news in which others are suffering from a lot of trouble and people feel gratitude that they are not victims. Secondly, news channels are in the race of achieving the highest TRP; therefore, they always in search of spicy and bad news to broadcast in their news channels because they know that it will get them the highest viewers. So, I deem that these could be the reasons that why bad news is being broadcasted by news houses.

News should be balanced in terms of good and bad because people should also get aware with the noble causes which are done in the society. Constant bombarding of bad news could cause catastrophic implications on the society, it is very essential to show the brighter side as well to halt this situation. Otherwise, it will create a wrong impression on the mind-set of the people which is ultimately undesirable for the betterment of the society. To exemplify, news related to charity will encourage people to give donation. Thus, I could say that news should be in equilibrium.

To recapitulate, although, people like to watch bad news and to get higher TRP media houses are broadcasting bad news, I bolster the notion of reporting good news and bad news in same quantum.