In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays city dwellers in many nations prefer to live on their own or in a single-parent family more than in a joint family. I think this is a negative development as this would not only affect the upbringing of their children negatively but also cause them to suffer from certain psychological illnesses.

When inhabitants of urban areas decide to live in small family units, their offsprings might develop certain negative traits and habits. As persons from the immediate family, such as grandparents, are often unavailable in such family groups, many parents have to rely on some strangers working as babysitters, who usually are not as sincere as the immediate family members in their responsibilities, to take care of their children. In such a situation, it is highly likely that children would develop bad behavior under the influence of their friends, television, and the internet due to less or even no restrictions. In India, for example, in recent years, cases of the juvenile delinquencies have been on the rise due to fewer family role models.

In addition, people living in nuclear families often have to suffer from mental disorders due to less human interaction. That is to say, they might not have many persons or even anyone to talk or to share their problems at their homes, and thus have to rely on passive distractions, such as television, or the internet, instead of the real human interactions. This gives them feelings of isolation and alienation and causes them to suffer from mental issues, such as severe depression, anxiety, and phobia, due to boredom and loneliness. For instance, a survey conducted by the WHO has revealed that depression is the most common psychological problem among working people who live in small family units.

In conclusion, I strongly believe it is a negative trend that a greater number of people living in metropolises today choose to live alone or only with their wife and children rather than in a large and extended family as this would hamper the growth of their sons and daughters, and lead to mental diseases.