Many office authorities impose a restriction on smoking within the office premises. Some governments have even banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it takes away some of our freedom.

Without any doubt, smoking is injurious and deadly to human health. it causes many dangerous diseases not only to the main smokers but also to surrounding non-smokers through passive smoking. Due to the severe health effects, many people are in favor of restricting or banning of smoking in public places and in offices. Although smokers argue this a restriction on their freedom, from my point of view, practicing a harmful activity in public should not come under the definition of freedom and therefore banning does not violate any freedom.

In addition to to the direct impacts to the main smokers, smoking in public also seriously affect other non-smokers mainly in two ways. Firstly, by the way of passive smoking when non-smokers inhale smoke and dangerous contents and have similar health damage as the main smoker. Secondly, Invitational or persuasive effect when non-smokers are attracted and follow smokers. The latter effect is more serious in the case of children since they tend to copy when they see their parents or others smoking.

On the other hand, smokers argue that smoking is related to their work performance at workplace and they need frequent smoking to feel relief and get concentration. But consuming harmful substance to feel better is not justifiable as it is more or less equivalent to have harmful drugs. Furthermore, it is office administration's right to decide what their staff can do or can not don within the office environment and so is true with the government to make a wise decision for the benefit of a large number of people. Last but not least, the cost of health insurance and government health budget is continued to increase because of rising smoking-related illness. Thus smoking limitation is essential to reduce the risks associated with it. The advantages of banning overweight the disadvantages of inconvenience to the smokers.

In conclusion, smoking banning is imperative and should be applied for the benefits of many non-smokers and to reduce the possible risk of children to be addicted. Some designated smoking areas could be introduced at workplaces in order to respect the rights of smokers, nevertheless, smoking should not be done in the public areas and in offices.