Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and include your opinion, supported by examples.

International sporting events do a lot for cultural understanding and economical

development among the global family. However, the staging of major international

sporting spectacles is not entirely positive. Thus, the opinions surrounding whether

international sporting events contribute positively to a country or not will be analyzed

before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

It is believed by many that countries who host major international sporting events

reap numerous rewards. Take the Beijing Olympics of 2008, for example. These

Olympic games greatly helped China to shed its twentieth century status as an

incapable, political mess. This positive change to the country’s image did a lot to

encourage international trade partners, who may have been weary of the country’s

capabilities otherwise. Thus, it is clear why many people around the world want their

country to host an international sporting event.

However, there are other groups who feel internationally held sporting events do

more harm than good to a country. For example, the Formula 1 race held annually in

various cities around the world is often criticized for its insensitive nature towards the

environment. As the racetracks are only used once a year, many feel this wastes the

huge stretches of land they sit on, land that would perhaps be better used for

residential purposes. Thus, it is understandable why many do not support their

country’s foray into international sporting.

After looking at both sides of the argument, it is felt that a country’s participation in

international sporting events is much more positive than negative. It is hoped

international sport can help promote cultural understanding.