Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines.

Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Technology has advanced from hand blenders to food processors, manual washing to automatic machines, and these new appliances have made people’s life more comfortable as compared to past. It is almost unimaginable one modern household functions without modern household appliances. This rapid development has lessened the burden for many and proved beneficial; however, it has posses’ drawbacks to mankind and environment which cannot be ignored.

Firstly, let’s discuss the positive aspects. In this modern era, where everybody is occupied especially the working ladies, with the new inventions people do not have much trouble in doing house chores. The time spends for doing household work has reduced remarkably. In this way, people can save a lot of their, which is the most valuable asset in the modern society. In addition to this, it has helped those who are not skilled in cooking, washing, cleaning and other house activities. As these consumer goods are self-explanatory and automatic most of the time, therefore, anyone with basic knowledge of the language can cook or wash by following simple manual in just couples of minutes.

On the other hand, these increase used of electronic goods brings itself high energy consumptions that leads to the rise in environmental pollution. It has been observed that, compared to earlier times, more amount of energy is consumed these days in doing house chores. For instance, to wash clothes 7 units of energy is consumed by average family, combining it with the existing population this accounts of high energy utilisation. Therefore, it is serious problem which needs to be addressed.

To conclude, modern appliances are invented to make people’s life easier and they are successful in that, however, the cost environment has to bear overweighs its benefits. Therefore, everyone should use energy efficient appliances, and that will still make the life of people easier and more convenient yet eco-friendly.