Nowadays food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live?

Most of the food items that were hard to prepare and restricted to experienced chefs are now easily available off the shelf or are made easy to prepare with modern recipes. But like any other thing, this also has its advantages and disadvantages.

Firstly, most of these foods are high in saturated fats and eventually leads to obesity. They cannot become substitutes for our staple diet that is still not so easy to prepare due to nature of its cooking methods. For example, for most of the Indians, the staple diet includes a combination of Indian bread, pulses and curries. It is not possible to make it much easier even using modern equipment or methods. Secondly, most of the easy to prepare food items either have a very little shelf life or they need to be kept frozen (or both). Thus they cannot match the nutrition of freshly prepared traditional home food.

Having said that, these easy to prepare food items are a boon to students or other people, who stay away from home. They are definitely better than eating in restaurants or street food. Although not as good as home food, they definitely purpose the purpose to get “home-like” food. Also, most of these food items come with handy instructions and pre-mixed ingredients. With simple instructions, anybody can cook most of the recipes now. This has life easier for many across the globe.

With the advent of easy availability of raw ingredients, it has not become much easier to cook recipes at home that was previously possible to cherish only in high-end restaurants. For instance, the Italian pasta, which requires many types of sauces, is now easy to prepare at home and all these sauces are now just a call away from a local grocery shop.

In conclusion, this is a much welcomed and positive change and it has definitely improved our lives.