Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In recent times, the amount of garbage being produced has increased substantially. This essay will explain what I think are the main causes for this and provide possible solutions for a government to mitigate the amount of waste generated.

With regards to the cardinal issue of inflation in debris, an important one to consider is the purchasing behaviour of the individuals. This is because people often prefer to buy vegetables and other commodities in bulk, which after a while reaches the expiry date due to non-usage. As a result, it goes into the dustbin. The possible alternative to this problem is that government needs to run awareness camps to educate individuals about drawbacks of higher quantities being purchased, so that only the required quantity is procured. Thereby, ensuring the wastage is controlled from the grass root level.

Another major cause is the industrial waste. With the number of industries multiplying rapidly, the amount of wastage churning out is also rising. The primary factor why industries are increasing is linked to the demand and supply in the market. Referring the idea mentioned above, when citizens are buying more than requirement, then the artificial demand is created in the market. As a result, production at factory level rises and eventually leads to wastage of the products. The government should regulate the factories and ensure there is no overproduction which results in product wastage. By doing so, only the necessary products reach the outlets while the wastage is minimized.

In conclusion, from my perspective, purchasing patterns and industrial product waste are causing high wastes. The measures of educating buyers about the necessary quantities to be purchased and industrial production regulations will help to counter the problem.