The ownership of cars should be one per family in order to reduce traffic congestion and pollution.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, humans' overreliance on private vehicles is arguably the main cause of traffic congestion and the degradation of air quality. However, it is argued that to reverse the situation, each family should only own one private vehicle. I agree with this opinion in some circumstances. The following paragraphs will discuss the opinion and my perception.

It is reasonable to believe that the restriction on the number of cars owned by each family plays a significant role in mitigating the problems of air pollution and traffic jam. First of all, it contributes to encouraging a growing number of citizens to take public transports to the destination, thereby bringing about a slump in the number of cars on the road as well as the total amount of car exhaust. Moreover, this restriction could also increase the popularity of active travel, including cycling and walking, which allows commuters to exercise regularly and maintain their health. Besides, it is also consistent with the universal principles of promoting environmental-friendly transport modes.

On the other hand, it is also believed that the limitation will also result in a series of issues. In the first place, it posts various inconveniences on most residents. For instance, many people who live in rural area or countryside will find it difficult to travel to work without their cars, as the public transport system in many cities is inadequate and consequently incapable of meeting the needs of numerous citizens. As a result, those people will spend an excessive amount of time merely on commuting. Additionally, there are large numbers of families each of which includes over four members, so it is also impossible to utilize only one car to carry all members at one time.

In my opinion, it is worth mentioning that the strict control about the ownership of the number of private vehicles per each family could minimize people's reliance on cars, thereby enhancing traffic and easing the problem of pollution. Overall, I believe that it is an appropriate approach. However, we should also concern about the inconveniences caused by this control.