In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

The trend of shopping has transformed from being a routine household activity to a leisure pursuit for many people in recent years. In my opinion, I think that this transformation can have a negative impact on both individuals and the society.

Admittedly, increased number of potential buyers affect commercial market positively as it creates more business opportunities. In other words, business entities look towards expanding their business which can ultimately earn more revenue. For example, Nike has multiple outlets all over the world due to increasing number of customers. However, there are many other ways to earn greater returns than from shopaholic people.

Nevertheless, I am of the view that impulsive shopping can create financial challenges for such families. Not many individuals, presently, have greater amount of disposable income and may end up running out of money, if not spent wisely, which ultimately leads towards securing bank loans. For instance, 30% adults in the UK who regard shopping as a hobby are in debt as they cannot manage their expenses efficiently.

Another point to consider is that addictive shopping creates large amount of waste as well, as people tend to discard their old belongings when they buy new ones. This poses a threat not only to the environment but to the government as well since it incurs a huge cost to dispose and recycle the waste along with consumption of raw materials to meet increased demands. For instance, 15% of the annual budget of India is dedicated towards operating their landfills and waste collection units.

In conclusion, the challenges to the buyers and the community brought by following the hobby of extensive shopping have made this pursuit more detrimental which indeed is not a positive development.