People should work a fixed number of hours per week, and employers should not ask anybody to work more than this. Do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

Different views exist considering employees working hours. Some believe people should only work for an exact amount of time each week and not be asked to continue their job for extra hours. However, others argue that this limitation conflicts with the company interest since to meet a deadline or avert a crisis they have no choice than demanding their staff to stay for several more hours. Nevertheless, in my opinion, the former idea seems more appealing as I will express my reasoning in the following.

First of all, the purpose of work is to provide people with money so that they can live. Therefore, why should one bother to work if they do not get to live? Waking up early in the morning and coming back home late at night does not considered a healthy life by any standard. Fixating the working hours help employees especially workaholic to go home on time and plan for their leisure time. Spending quality time with family members and friends help individuals to unwind which in turn results in healthier happier staff. In addition, studies show the happier the employees, the more successful the company.

Secondly, without having a specific number of hours in place, employees get confused and often enter an unhealthy competition to prove their worth by spending more and more time in the office. Although, on the first glimpse, it may seem that businesses are going to benefit from such rivalry, it is the exact opposite and examples demonstrate the harmful effect of such toxic environment. For an instance, those who cannot work extra hours feel inadequate and unsatisfied with themselves and their job. On the other hand, ones who have drowned themselves in their work feel being used and demand more benefits from the company which have become their whole life.

In conclusion, determining a fixed working hours is beneficial for both workers and their employers. In the short run it may seem extreme and damaging for businesses. However, in the long run companies get more successful as healthy employees are much more effective, innovative, and fresh-minded than the overworked staffs.