Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time To what extent do you agree with this statement

Some leisure activities become fashionable for a short time and then disappear when a new

trend comes along, whereas others seem to be perennially popular. I can therefore only

partly agree with the assertion that hobbies reflect changing fashions rather than our true

interests.

On the one hand, it is true that many hobbies are simply passing trends. Children and

teenagers, in particular, are attracted to whatever activity is currently popular among their

peers. My 10-year-old niece, for example, seems to have a new interest every month, as she

joins in with the latest craze that sweeps through her primary school. Over the last year or

so, she has been obsessed with Rubik’s cubes, fidget spinners, squidgies and slime. In a

similar way, there have been several different fitness trends for adults over recent years,

from jogging to yoga to circuit training, and I doubt whether the majority of participants

continued to enjoy those activities in the long term.

On the other hand, many people spend their free time doing popular activities that are far

from trendy. One good example would be the game chess. Children and adults who enjoy

playing chess are certainly not following a new fashion or wasting their time on something

that they do not truly like. On the contrary, they are passionate about a game that has

existed for hundreds of years, and they find it inherently fascinating and absorbing. I would

say the same about many other hobbies, from reading to swimming.

In conclusion, while some people are attracted to the latest fashionable hobby, others

choose their pastimes for more genuine reasons.