In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping

IS it a positive or negative development?

It is a well-known fact that globalization changing every aspects of our world. The question, however, arises, is the small local shops are still play important role in our society or we should be surrounded only by big global brands. In this essay I will attempt to discuss both sides of the view and provide relevant examples.

First and foremost, big shopping malls have many benefits for the customer. For example, only by traveling to one shopping centre we can visit many different small shops inside. This allow people to save a lot of time. In today's world people have very hectic lives. Moreover, shopping centres might be focused on very special customer. For instance, in Dubai there is open mall on street with luxury shops just for rich customers. In addition, shopping malls provide great place to promote big brand in their areas.

On the other hand, small shops also have plenty of advantages. Firstly, the product in local shops are usually more sophisticated it can be even handmade. There are many small bakeries or even cloths shops selling handcrafted items. Besides, local shops are usually in convenience localization so we can get to them on foot. Many times when people are missing just one thing to prepare diner or to fix something at home they prefer to go to nearby shop.

In conclusion, I believe that big shopping mall have plenty advantages and give people a lot of opportunities by offering big range of products and entertainment but there will be always place for small local shops with handmade products.