The responsibility of bringing up children should be shared equally between mother and father. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate whether both the parents are responsible for the upbringing of their children is getting controversial these days. In my opinion, I believe that it is not necessary to make both mother and father liable for this.

Admittedly, the presence of both the parents can be beneficial for children during developing phase. It can teach youngsters necessary traits of life which can be vital in achieving success at later stages. In fact, a child can learn qualities of hard work, endurance and persistence from the personality of a father, while a mother can instill emotional understanding and mental toughness from an early age. All these skills are vital for anyone to be a better person and a successful professional in adult life. For example, according to a statistical survey, 25% children who are brought up by both the parents understand and practice good moral and social attributes.

However, I consider that there are many families where youngsters are brought up by a single parent and yet they achieve whatever the opposites can. As a matter of fact, there are numerous societies where a father is employed somewhere outside their hometown and is away for an extended period of time. In this situation a mother is solely responsible for managing the house and children and thus plays a pivotal role of developing good characters in the new generation. They, in fact, become more mature and responsible towards their families and communities as they understand the value of togetherness. For instance, about 35% individuals raised by a single parent end up having a professional degree in Indonesia alone.

In conclusion, although both parents play a crucial part in character building of children, I think that a single parent can also help them absorb good moral and social norms.