The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be mad

Even though the levels of congestion and air pollutants shooting up in the majority of world cities, the use of personal vehicles such as cars has been soaring. The quality of life is continuously taking a nose dive in metropolitan and cosmopolitan areas. As a counter-action people must be stimulated to reduce the use of cars and opt for public transportation. In this essay, I will throw light on practicable techniques such as cost-effectiveness, cleanliness and introduction of government operated vehicle pooling services, which to enable people utilize public transports.

To begin with, governments should strive towards making public transit cost-effective. The prices needs to be revised and reduced on a seasonal basis. Secondly, during festive seasons various promotions, discounts and offers catch the interest of people. Finally, charges must be reduced on seasonal passes and as a consequence more number of students and senior citizens choose public transportation.

Furthermore, cleanliness and government operated vehicle pooling projects can attribute towards invigorating the use of public transport system. First and foremost, government has to be determined to preserve and promote neatness in trains and buses. For example, in countries like Japan and USA, there are strict rules and regulations and heavy fines would be imposed if people resort to uncleanly activities outside. In addition, government assisted vehicle pooling schemes should be introduced. There are people who compel on commuting by cars. To facilitate the requirements of such persons, memberships to register under state-supervised car sharing plans can be introduced under monthly, half-yearly and yearly subscriptions. This serves as a safe and secure commute system. Hence, cleanliness and government supported car pool projects push people to use public transit.

In conclusion, the quality of life which is deteriorating due to rocketing levels of congestion and pollutants in air resulting from the multiplying use of cars, can be back-pedaled by promoting public transport usage. The feasible approaches for this are cost-efficiency, sanitation and government-undertaken car sharing programs.