Safety standards are important when building people s homes Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes the government or the people who build the houses

Adequate safety measurements must be taken into consideration, when residential apartments are constructed, to avoid occurrence of any unpleasant incident. Generally, standards which are concerned with the safety of all residents in the area, must be ensured by the government. However, for some, people can have their freedom of choice, whether to implement that particular strategy for their safety or not.

As such, authorities must provide guidelines to the builders, for the quality of materials to be used for the construction process. If material is found of inferior quality, it should be banned for use. Other things which are to be ensured by the governing bodies are, the obligatory installation of fire extinguishers and smoke detectors in homes. Government should also assist people by providing the information regarding earthquake prone areas and also set the number of storeys to be allowed while building homes in a specific area.

People should also be aware about the safety codes and what they can do in this direction is, the use of equipment to avoid malfunctioning of electricity and gas supply. Besides this, whether to equip their homes with CCTV cameras or to use automatic locks and doors, is solely their individual decision. Government should not make any compulsions for such arrangements.

To conclude, safety assurance should be the first priority of government as well as masses while building new homes. Initially, It will seem time consuming and tedious to spend money on such practices, but in the long run, citizens wil feel safer in case of mishappenings.