scientist predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in future

do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Earlier global and local were two ends of a dichotomous spectrum, but now due to technological advancements this bridge has dissolved. It is predicted that soon all inhabitants of this globe will speak one universal language, I believe that it’s a negative development. This trend will result in large cultural loss and will have a negative impact on psychological development of human brain. This essay shall discuss prospectus of universe adopting single language on cultures as on individuals.

Language of a culture carries history of its tradition along with it. Due to development of one global language will result in loss of several local languages hence ultimately result in disappearance of respective culture and its tradition. This can be explained by concrete example of era of British Colonization, during colonization of several African tribal areas by Britishers, they implementation English as official language during that era, had resulted in loss of local languages and hence resulting in extinction of tradition and culture which ultimately resulted in extinction of those tribes.

Furthermore, there has been a very compelling evidence that multilinguals are more intellectual than others. It has been proven by study done by Harvard university in 2009 that individuals speaking many languages has more cognitive development of brain as compared to others who spoke one or two languages. Hence due to development of one global language is going to produce a breed of psychologically weak individuals.

Although adoption of one universally spoken language has its benefit such as more exchange of knowledge and ideas and certainly more social interaction, but its cons outweigh the pros.

To sum up due to technological advancements we are now living in a village called “GLOCAL”and its assumed that soon there will a single universally spoken language. Adopting one global language will result in major cultural loss and would have negative impact on development of intellect in human brain.