In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.What is your opinion on this?

Teenage is a tender age, teenagers are not considered very mature, hence in the US most of the parents create rules, to make sure that teenagers do not stay out till late unless their parents are with them. I strongly believe that there has to be a certain set of rules and regulation that teenagers should follow to enforce the sense of discipline in them.

For instance, several teenagers like to mimic adults and behave like them, they want to stay out till late, because of this they may not wake up early and start missing school, which will affect their grades, hence it is important that parents make rules to avoid such situations. In addition, it has been observed, teenagers are becoming addicted to alcohol and drugs frequently because their parents are not paying attention to them due to their busy work schedule. Also, teen pregnancy has become more frequent due to negligence from their parents. Teenagers are having sex early because of no rules and restrictions, teenagers are not ready to become parents and take responsibilities, teen moms tend to dropout high school and do not get the proper education.

Furthermore, enforcing a curfew from an early age makes teenagers more responsible, they are more prone to learn time management early. Moreover, teenagers with strict time boundaries are more respectful to their parents, for example, they inform their parents in advance before making plans with their friends, also they inform their parents about their whereabouts on regular basis.

In conclusion, by setting up a curfew time for teenagers, parents can ensure the safety and behavior of their children. However, parents should be flexible to provide enough space for their teenagers, so they can still communicate openly with their parents.