Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Some employers provide uniforms for their staff which need to be worn at all times. Although offering uniforms to their employees put an enormous strain on the company’s budget, however, this essay believes that it brings unity among the employees.

On the one hand, wearing uniforms at the office often creates an extraordinary rapport between colleagues. This is because when all of them wear same clothes it eradicates social indifference among them and they consider each other equally. This eventually helps to create bonding between them that, in turn, improves their productivity. For instance, as per a survey conducted by Union welfare association of India, it was disclosed that the uniform culture in the office removed the disputes among the staffs that related to economic status and yield greater results. This essay completely agrees with this point of view because it benefits both employer and employee in creating a positive workplace.

On the other hand, the company needs to allocate funds for providing uniforms to their employees which effects their company’s revenue. That is to say, many companies often have a large number of people and providing uniforms to all requires a huge amount of money to be allocated from the company’s annual budget which prevents the company from spending on other necessary factors as employee insurance and annual increment. For example, a recent report from the Indian Stakeholder’s board disclosed that ACL, a leading company spends nearly two-fifth of their annual budget in providing uniforms to their employees which negatively impacts in an employee’s annual increments. However, I believe that the employee’s positive attitude towards work should be given high priority.

To conclude, providing uniforms to the staff's demands funds from the company’s account, however, I believe that wearing uniforms improves bonding among employees.