In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education.

What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays in European nations, children who are in the age bracket of 11 to 13 engaged in more on-hand skills at school that will enable them to secure work while other prefers education that gives more traditional academics in their studies. These two ways of learning are good on their own and would be discussed in this essay, however, the mixture of both learning in getting a job would add significantly to the students.

First of all, people believe that learning and improving on handy work at schools would help to give a head start at life after finishing school. If a pupil is equipped with skills like arts or tailoring while at school and immediately they are done with their academics and unable to secure a job in a company, the skills they acquire at school could be embarked on as a source of income for them. For instance, I couldn’t secure university admission immediately I finished my secondary school but due to the practical skill of electrical repairs I engaged with while at school, I was able to make some money before I finally got my admission. So, securing a practical skill did help.

Consequently, general education cannot be overemphasized because soft skills like engagement with people, understanding peoples believes and emotional intelligence are required in the work environment, therefore, traditional academic education cannot be downplayed. For example, due to the general education I underwent while in school, I was able to gain some soft skills like interaction with different people, how and best way to communicate and other morals lessons which eventually helped in preparing me for the world at large.

In conclusion, this essay has highlighted reasons while mixture of both handy skills and soft skills by schools in general should be encouraged like arts, tailoring as so on. These will equip the pupils much better which will make them a better person in the work place after they finish their schools.