In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Taking a break from studies after higher secondary is quite popular in some nations. The culture over there generates enthusiasm in them for using this time either to gain some work experience or to visit different countries. There is no doubt that this practice is certainly advantageous as it helps in learning about new culture and having an extra income. However, it may also have adverse effects on students which may cut-off them entirely from getting enrolled for future studies.

Visiting different places makes people learn about different cultures which help them in enhancing their knowledge. This in turn, makes them wiser and enables them to make better decisions for their future prospects. For instance, many of them may pursue career in wildlife photography or some of them may want to work for tourism companies, which may not have been possible if they did not had that kind of experience. To exemplify, Nas Daily, a popular social media star gave up his seat at MIT USA after taking a year off to visit entire world. He ultimately landed up a better job at Thomas cook with higher pay scale. To add on, teenagers also get a source of income. This job helps them to earn extra money which they may use to pay their fees in future. Furthermore, it also provides them with a firsthand work experience about the real life market scenarios which makes them more focused for their future goals.

Having said that, being away from education for an entire year has its own repercussions. It somehow disconnects students from upcoming studies as they spent a good part of their time on work and travel. In other words, they get accustomed to travel and have a quality time instead of getting bored in college sessions. For example, Niti Chandra, a famous blogger from India, dropped her plans for college after visiting Himalayas region. She decided to settle over there and open a cafe instead of continuing her studies and get more successful. Moreover, the income they have while working makes them crave more for it as it helped them to maintain their social status. This eventually hampers their mindset and they shift towards working rather than getting a degree. To illustrate, according to a recent survey conducted by Oxford Business School, people who work before getting enrolled for graduation are more prone to drop this idea and rather work, because of which, a handsome number of seats remain emptied for 2018-19 session.

To conclude, it is a welcome step to either have some travel experience or get a job prior to continue further university studies as it helps monetarily and provides a good knowledge of different ethnicities and their culture around the world. But the negative impact ought to be looked after which may prove to be detrimental and deteriorate the interest of students in future studies.