Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times. They

dont want their children to read entertainment books becuase they think it is a waste of time.

Do you agree/ DIsagree with their opinion?

Some parents expect their children to read-only academic books every time. They think that reading magazines or newspaper is a waste of time and children ought to use this time in reading their course books. In my opinion, I do not agree with the statement, as reading varieties of books apart from educational help children to create a holistic development and avoid a sedentary lifestyle.

To begin with, one problem with reading educational books all time is it becomes monotonous for children. They get bored by reading the academic stuff every time and prefer to read on different aspects. Reading comics and magazines help them to know on varieties of general things which are also necessary for today's time. For example, according to a recent survey, 38% of children who read magazines twice a week had more general knowledge than others who only read academic books. Another point to consider is that, if children are encouraged to read about different sports and their favorite stars, it encourages them to play sports, helping them to avoid a sedentary lifestyle and make be active and healthy. Therefore, reading about different varieties of books apart from academics help children in knowing varieties of general subjects and motivation to involve in an active lifestyle.

Having said that, there are some benefits to children reading only academic books. Their attention is not diverted from studies, which helps them to score better grades. For example, according to a recent poll, 45% of children who read educational books all times not only performed better in practical exams but also scored good marks in theory exams. But if parents guide properly and help them to divide proper time for both the subjects, children reading different subjects can also score equally well.

In conclusion, reading different books on varieties of subjects help pupils to understand better which helps to create their overall development and encourage them to involve in an active lifestyle.