Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern era, crimes rate are increasing rapidly and it is devastating to see that establishments are unable to keep crime rate under control. In order to give suggestions to the law makers, some school of business advocate that there should be same punishment for an offence and believe capital punishment can control the rate, while many others opine this and want the acknowledgement of the reason for the offence before punishing. Both the opinions are scrutinised before passing any conviction.

Indeed inhumane can be severe, but there should be a fear in our society so that no individual will think about committing any crime. For an instance, Dubai law makers give capital punishment to every criminal and this is the uttermost reason the crime rate in Dubai is less than 5%. Moreover, Punishing all the offenders with the same intensity will decrease the work load on judges and they can use that time saved in making new policies by which crime rate can be lowered.

Admittedly, no person is born criminal. It is our society who behave harsh and turn an asset into liability. Further more, intensity of crimes are different and reason behind them can differ. To substantiate it, punishing both people with same imprisonment will be in-adequate for one who killed someone in self defence while the other who killed because of jealousy. Hence, abandoning someone without knowing the reason will be abash for our society.

Having dwelled on such thoughts, it can be concluded that the offenders with the motive of harming society must be punished severely while people turned into offenders must be given another chance so that our society can be benefited.