Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Some others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisements can be said to rule the roost in the commercial world and are subjected to much criticism. Whereas on the one side they are alleged to nurture consumerismm, on the other side they are claimed to be informative of new products. While admitting that there is some truth in the latter fact, this essay asserts that advertisements promote consumerism that is deleterious to the society in multiple ways.

On the positive side, advertisement makes people aware of the multitude of products available in the market. For instance, people come to know of the launch of a new product only through advertisements. This in a way, makes the market competitive. Competition leads to the cost of products being reasonable and to the quality of goods being enhanced. Further, the advertising industry employs thousands of people. Advertisements are creative and promote creativity in arts and showbiz.

On the negative side, advertisements encourage consumerism. To exemplify, people are mesmerized by flashy advertisements and they spend impulsively even for items that they do not really require. In spite of tight competition, this would hike prices and eventually affect the economy of the poor. Advertisements are also extremely expensive and cost of advertising is included in the price of the article.

Having analysed the pros and cons of the matter in some details, it can be asserted that although advertisements are part and parcel of modern life, they help consumerism to thrive. It is not in the best interests of the society and should be.