Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects Other people think that in today s world subjects like science and technology are more important than history Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In modern society, the importance of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) subjects has been increasing. While some people argue that History is one of the most essential school subjects, others believe that subjects like Science and Technology are more important.

On the one hand, people value STEM subjects for several reasons. As we are living in a highly industrialized society, which relies on the advances in numerous natural science theories and technologies, STEM subjects equipped students with knowledge that is useful for their future careers. For example, studying Science and Technology could stand students in good stead by providing practical skills like programming and calculating. In addition, studying Science and Technology can also deepen the understanding of the natural world. Teachers can motivate students' awareness about environmental problems like global warming and water pollution, which encourages them to be committed to solving these problems.

On the other hand, other people also emphasize the importance of History. It is true that natural science only accounts for one part of the science community and the other part is social science like History. By learning History, students gain knowledge about the development of their nation, as well as various regions around the world. This kind of knowledge is extremely helpful to foster a sense of cultural identity and patriotism. Moreover, students are often asked to judge historical figures and events. These people and events are usually controversial and can not be simply judged as right or wrong, so students can improve their critical-thinking skills through this activity. In addition, being ignorant of the history of one's motherland is a shame.

From my perspective, I agree that History is one of the most essential school subjects and it is as important as subjects like Science and Technology.