Some people say that learning history has no value in this modern world. Others say that everyone should have knowledge about history to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Few people opine that history has no significant value in this virtual world. While other argue that history is important in order to understand our present better. However, I believe that one should know their cultural and country history to certain extent so that they can understand their present.

Many choose to study science and math subject because they have better job prospect compared to history. Today, many youngsters spend more hours studying to get top grade to get into reputed college and hence have no time to study subject like history. For example, schools and universities conduct exams only on STEM subjects because they alone can help young adults get a better job. Also, people do not want to spend time learning about past as it will not change anything in the present nor in the future. In addition, we live in a world where every things is constantly changing, hence one need to be updated about the technology such as artificial intelligence and robotic science. History does not help in any way to earn a living hence, it is given less weightage.

On the flip side, few argue that people should learn about history as it will help them understand about the human evolution and how far humans have come. This way they will embrace of what they have. Also, it is very important to know about our culture and tradition. Young generation should learn about their culture so that they can pass it on to next generation. This way, their culture can evade from extinction. Today, many languages and customs are in the verge of disappearance because they fail to learn about their history. For example, In my country a few decades ago there were 500 communities but now we have only 287 communities and this is due to the fact that people did not learn their history.

In conclusion, it is enough for one to learn about history to certain extent. However, it is important that one should spend their time on learning subjects like science so that they can have better lifestyle.